HKUST Presents Honorary Fellowships to Three Distinguished Individuals


The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) today conferred Honorary Fellowships on three distinguished individuals in recognition of their contributions to the University and the community. Dr the Honorable Marvin K T Cheung, Council Chairman of HKUST, and Prof Tony F Chan, President of HKUST officiated at the Presentation Ceremony. The recipients of the 2012 Honorary Fellowships are: Dr Andrew Chan Ka-ching, Mr Herbert S Cheng, Jr and Prof Laurence C Franklin. Their brief biographies are set out below:

Dr Andrew Chan Ka-ching, Deputy Chairman of the Arup Group Ltd, has contributed significantly to the field of engineering as the former President and a Fellow of the Hong Kong Institution of Engineers (HKIE), as well as a Fellow of the Hong Kong Academy of Engineering Science. To nurture outstanding engineering graduates, he created President’s Apprenticeships at HKIE. He was the chief geotechnical engineer who prepared the site formation and structural foundations of HKUST’s campus. Currently an Adjunct Professor at HKUST’s School of Engineering, he serves on several advisory committees of the School and has provided scholarships and summer internships for HKUST’s undergraduates. As the Chairman of the Hong Kong Green Building Council and a respected engineer, he calls upon fellow engineers to give the city greener buildings and a cleaner environment. He participated in the construction of the Guangzhou-Shenzhen-Zhuhai Superhighway and many super-highrises including the IFC and the ICC.

Mr Herbert S Cheng, Jr, Chief Executive Officer of Chiaphua Industries Ltd, is the head of the worldwide business with 15,000 employees and an annual revenue exceeding HK$2 billion. In collaboration with HKUST scientists, he is leading his business into the forefront of technology for the treatment and purification of drinking water and air for household uses. He is also championing the use of ozonated water and odor-free cleaners, a one-product-fits-all application for hotels and other establishments. As the eldest grandson of the late Dr Cheng Yick-chi who founded the Chiap Hua Group of Companies and the Chiap Hua Cheng’s Foundation, Mr Cheng continues a family tradition which pays his local employees subsidies ranging from 25% to 75% for their children’s education. By founding the Chiaphua Volunteer Group, he encourages employees to visit children who are mentally challenged or who are cancer-sufferers. He has financially supported institutions as well as students through scholarships and bursary programs. He has been a Council Member at HKUST for six years, serving as Vice-Chair of its Human Resources Committee and a member of the Standing Committee for the past four years.

Prof Laurence C Franklin, an Adjunct Professor at HKUST’s School of Business and Management, has over 20 years experience in financial services as an investment banker, commercial banker and bank lawyer. He has been the General Manager of Investments and Head Legal Counsel for Hutchison Whampoa (China) Ltd, the Deputy Managing Director for AIA, and the China Country Head of the First National Bank of Chicago. He has extensive experience teaching EMBA, MBA and Law programs at premier universities including HKUST, MIT Sloan, CEIBS, Chicago, Virginia, UCLA and Tsinghua University. He has donated HK$5 million for scholarships and towards creating the Prizes for Teaching Excellence at HKUST, and has successfully raised more than HK$3 million in government matching funds for the University through making qualifying gifts. A strong believer in diversity, he has created the first Scholarship in the Kellogg-HKUST EMBA program for candidates from Non-Profit Organizations.


For media enquiries, please feel free to contact :

Kit Yip
Tel: 2358 6313

At the Honorary Fellowship Presentation Ceremony: (from left) Prof Laurence C Franklin, Dr Andrew Chan Ka-ching, Council Chairman Dr Marvin K T Cheung, Mr Herbert S Cheng, Jr, and President Prof Tony F Chan.
At the Honorary Fellowship Presentation Ceremony: (from left) Prof Laurence C Franklin, Dr Andrew Chan Ka-ching, Council Chairman Dr Marvin K T Cheung, Mr Herbert S Cheng, Jr, and President Prof Tony F Chan.
Sign up for our latest news