HKUST Establishes Partner State Key Laboratory to Advance Research in Advanced Displays and Optoelectronics Technologies


The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST), in collaboration with Sun Yat-Sen University, has established the "Partner State Key Laboratory on Advanced Displays and Optoelectronics Technologies (PSKL)", following approval from the Ministry of Science and Technology of the Central Government. The Laboratory aims to boost green displays and optoelectronics technologies. Prof Tony F Chan, President of HKUST, Ms Janet Wong, Commissioner of Innovation and Technology Commission, Prof Li Lu, Director of the Department of Educational, Scientific and Technological Affairs, Liaison Office of the Central People’s Government in the HKSAR, Prof Jun Chen, Professor of Sun Yat-sen University and Deputy-Director of the Guangdong Provincial Key Laboratory of Display Material and Technology, and others, officiated at the PSKL opening ceremony today.

Prof Tony F Chan, HKUST President, said the University was committed to research excellence, and attached great importance to fostering cooperation between academia, research and industry, and promoting technology transfer in Hong Kong and Mainland China. The establishment of the PSKL served as recognition of HKUST’s research achievements in the field. It would also act as a key platform to strengthen collaborations and academic exchanges between Mainland and international institutions to boost technological advancement in Hong Kong and the country at large.

China has made great efforts to promote the display industry over past years, and has included it in the national 12th Five-Year Plan. Displays are the fourth largest import in China. However, few universities or research institutions in China focus on display research. The new PSKL will build on the work of HKUST’s Center for Display Research and its track record of achievements. Established in 1995, researchers at the Center have published over 2,000 journal articles related to display research, and successfully obtained more than 100 and 60 patents in the US and China respectively. The PSKL will also serve as a key platform for HKUST and Sun Yat-Sen University to boost innovation and nurture talents.

Basic and applied research projects at the PSKL will concentrate on five main areas: oxide thin film transistors (TFT) array technology; third generation organic LED (OLED) devices; liquid crystal display (LCD) devices; video signal processing; IC design; and frontier technologies. One major task for the PSKL is to develop energy-saving green displays. This will include active matrix organic light emitting diodes (AMOLED) displays. The PSKL will also provide training programs and short courses for Chinese enterprises, and hold seminars and international conferences with other institutions.

Prof Hoi-sing Kwok, Chair Professor of HKUST’s Department of Electronic and Computer Engineering, and Dr William M W Mong Professor of Nanotechnology, has been appointed Director of the PSKL. Twenty-three senior engineering and science faculty members from HKUST will carry out research at the PSKL, including the "Father of OLED" and member of the US National Academy of Engineering Prof Ching Tang, five IEEE Fellows, three Fellows of the American Physical Society, a Fellow of the Optical Society of America, and a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

Prof Kwok said: "HKUST has been carrying out leading research on display technology, with its top research team and world-class facilities. Establishing a state key laboratory is a strong endorsement of the University’s research excellence. Utilizing the complementary strengths of the PSKL and Sun Yat-Sen University, the collaboration would foster further development of the display industry in line with the 12th Five-Year Plan."

For media enquiries, please feel free to contact :

Ella Au Yeung

Tel: 2358 6306


 Guests at the PSKL opening ceremony. From left: Joseph Lee; Wei Shyy;  Hoi-sing Kwok; Prof Li Lu;  Tony F Chan; Ms Janet Wong; Jun Chen
Guests at the PSKL opening ceremony. From left: Prof Joseph Lee, HKUST Vice-President for Research and Graduate Studies; Prof Wei Shyy, Executive Vice-President & Provost; Prof Hoi-sing Kwok, PSKL Director; Prof Li Lu, Director of the Department of Educational, Scientific and Technological Affairs, Liaison Office of the Central People's Government in the HKSAR; Prof Tony F Chan, HKUST President; Ms Janet Wong, Commissioner of Innovation and Technology Commission; and Prof Jun Chen, Professor of Sun Yat-sen University.
Sign up for our latest news