科大颁授荣誉博士予三位社会杰出领袖
12-10-2007

香港科技大学(科大)将于11月9日(星期五)举行第15届学位颁授典礼,届时香港特别行政区行政长官曾荫权先生,将以科大大学监督身份主持毕业典礼,并颁授荣誉博士学位予三位社会杰出领袖,以表扬他们在不同界别的杰出成就及对社会作出的贡献。

这三位获颁授荣誉博士学位的社会杰出领袖分别为:

著名小说家及《明报》创办人查良镛教授:文学荣誉博士

著名慈善家及信兴集团主席兼董事长蒙民伟博士:工商管理学荣誉博士

诺贝尔化学奖得主卡尔‧夏普斯教授:理学荣誉博士

 

以下为他们的简历:

查良镛教授:

查良镛教授笔名金庸,是当代最优秀的华文小说家。查教授于 1955至1972年期间,共撰写了15本武侠小说,风靡全球。有华人的地方,就有金庸的小说。查教授在香港新闻界的成就显赫,他是《明报》创办人,亦是该报首任总编辑,至1993年荣休。

蒙民伟博士:

蒙民伟博士现任信兴集团主席兼董事长,他于 1953年创办信兴行,为乐声牌产品在港澳区的总代理。蒙博士于1984年成立「信兴教育及慈善基金」,多年来捐款逾4亿6千万港元,令教育界、医疗、康乐及环保等社会各阶层受惠。

卡尔‧夏普斯教授:

卡尔‧夏普斯教授 2001年获颁诺贝尔化学奖,以表扬他在烯醇盐的立体选择性氧化反应(stereo selective oxidation reactions)领域作出了开创性贡献。他曾任麻省理工学院及史丹福大学的化学系教授,现任美国Scripps研究所教授。

 

传媒查询:

陆锦荣
Tel: 2358 6306
Email: kluk@ust.hk 

黄慧婷
Tel: 2358 6317
Email: donnaw@ust.hk

 
查良镛教授
查良镛教授
蒙民伟博士
蒙民伟博士
卡尔‧夏普斯教授
卡尔‧夏普斯教授
25160
subscribe
注册收取我们的最新消息

Three Pre-eminent Leaders to be awarded Honorary Doctorates
2007-10-12

At the 15th Congregation of the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) to be held on 9 November, three pre-eminent leaders will be conferred honorary doctorates in recognition of their outstanding achievements and contributions.

The three recipients and the respective honorary degrees to be conferred on them are:

Prof the Hon Louis Cha, GBM, influential author and co-founder of Ming Pao: Doctor of Letters honoris causa

Dr William M W Mong, GBS, celebrated philanthropist and Chairman & Senior Managing Director of Shun Hing Group: Doctor of Business Administration honoris causa

Prof K Barry Sharpless, Nobel Laureate in Chemistry: Doctor of Science honoris causa

 

Chief Executive of HKSARG and HKUST Chancellor, the Hon Donald Tsang, will officiate at the conferment ceremony on 9 November.

Brief biography of the three recipients:

Prof the Hon Louis Cha, GBM: With the pen name of Jin Yong, Prof Cha is one of the most influential modern Chinese-language novelists. His 15 novels of wuxia (martial arts and chivalry) written between 1955 and 1972 earned him the reputation as one of the best-loved wuxia authors in modern time. Prof Cha is also the co-founder of a globally influential Hong Kong newspaper “Ming Pao” for which he was also its first editor-in-chief until 1993.

Dr William M W Mong, GBS: Dr Mong is the Chairman and Senior Managing Director of Shun Hing Group. He established the Shun Hing Hong in 1953 which is the sole agent for National Panasonic products in Hong Kong and Macau. In 1984, Dr Mong established the Shun Hing Education and Charity Fund which has donated more than HK$460 million towards projects on education, healthcare, sports and environmental protection over the years.

Prof K Barry Sharpless: Prof K Barry Sharpless is the Nobel Laureate in Chemistry in 2001 for his groundbreaking work on stereo selective oxidation reactions. He has been a professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Stanford University and currently holds the W M Keck professorship in chemistry at the Scripps Research Institute.

 

For media enquiries, please feel free to contact :

Luk Kam Wing
Tel
: 2358 6306
Email: kluk@ust.hk

Donna Wong
Tel
: 2358 6317
Email: donnaw@ust.hk

Prof the Hon Louis Cha, GBM
Prof the Hon Louis Cha, GBM
Dr William M W Mong, GBS
Dr William M W Mong, GBS
Prof K Barry Sharpless
Prof K Barry Sharpless
25153
subscribe
Sign up for our latest news