HKUST Holds Third Inauguration Ceremony of Named Professorships for Outstanding Faculty Members


The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) held the third inauguration ceremony of named professorships today to honor eight outstanding faculty members and their donors.

Officiating at the Inauguration Ceremony, President Prof Tony F Chan said, “I would like to express my most sincere gratitude to the donors for their generosity and support in establishing the named professorships. By giving due recognition to our exceptional faculty, the named professorship appointments help HKUST to recruit distinguished talents from around the world and to continue its unrelenting quest for excellence and innovation in education and research for the good of the University and the community.”

Prof Chan congratulated the appointed faculty and said, “The Named Professors all excel in a diverse range of disciplines encompassing science, engineering, business, social science and others. Their drive for excellence in teaching and research will set an inspiring example to students and assist HKUST to fortify its position as a world-class research university. HKUST will continue to garner support from the society with an aim of enhancing its strengths in fulfilling its mission.”

The professorships were made possible by donations given to HKUST from eight long-standing contributors to higher education. They are: Mr Daniel Chung Kwong Yu, Crown Worldwide Group, Elman Family Foundation, Fang Brothers Group, Sin Wai Kin Foundation Limited, Dr Helmut Sohmen and Mrs Anna Pao Sohmen, Tencent Charity Foundation Limited and Wei Lun Foundation Limited.

Among the officiating guests at the Inauguration Ceremony were HKUST Council Vice-Chairman Prof John Chai Yat-Chiu, President Prof Tony F Chan and other senior management. Donors, corporate sponsors and their representatives were also present at the ceremony. They are: Mr Reagan Dou, Dr Kenneth Fang, Mrs Annie Lee Liang, Dr Sin Wai Kin, Dr Helmut Sohmen, Dr James E Thompson, and Mr Daniel Chung Kwong Yu.

The appointed professors are:

Daniel C K Yu Professorship in Science
Prof Che Ting ChanDepartment of Physics

Crown Worldwide Professorship in Engineering
Prof Guillermo GallegoDepartment of Industrial Engineering and Decision Analytics

Elman Family Professorship in Public Policy
Prof Jack A Goldstone, HKUST Institute for Public Policy

Fang Professorship in Engineering
Prof Kei May LauDepartment of Electronic and Computer Engineering

Lee Quo Wei Professorship in Business
Prof Jiatao LiDepartment of Management

IAS Helmut and Anna Pao Sohmen Professorship-at-Large
Prof George SmootHKUST Jockey Club Institute for Advanced Study

Sin Wai Kin Visiting Professorship in Chinese Culture
Prof Lianke YanDivision of Humanities

Tencent Professorship in Engineering
Prof Qian ZhangDepartment of Computer Science and Engineering

For media enquiries, please contact:

Sherry No
Tel: 2358 6317









Johnny Tam
Tel: 2358 8556









Sign up for our latest news