庞鼎全教授, BS, MS, PhD
副校长(行政)

简历

庞鼎全教授获委任为香港科技大学副校长(行政),任期由2021年7月1日开始。

庞教授于1991年加入香港科技大学,现为计算器科学及工程学系教授。他曾于2019年任香港科技大学署理首席副校长,2013年至2021年任首席副校长资深顾问(教学创新与电子学习),于2002年至2010年任学术副校长(研究生教授及学术研究)及于1999年至2002年任工学院副院长。他也曾于2019年2021年任教育创新中心署理主任及于2015年2018年任工程教育创新中心主任。加入香港科技大学前,他曾任美国明尼苏达大学计算器科学系副教授。

庞教授现为大学教育资助委员会(教资会)辖下的质素保证局及研究评审工作小组的成员及研究主题及题目督导委员会成员。他曾于2010年至2012年担任教资会的学术研究顾问。他亦为自资专上教育委员会成员和资历及质素保证小组委员会主席。他也曾于2014年2020年任香港学术及职业资历评审局成员和资历及评审委员会主席。

庞教授除了是资深的学术行政人员,还主持多项电子学习的计划,包括由教资会的教与学资助计划拨款的香港高等教育界的大规模开放在线课堂联合平台 (HKMOOC)。他带领香港科技大学成为亚州首间大学加入全球大型在线课程平台Coursera和edX,于2013年推行大规模开放在线课堂。

庞教授于1984年从弗吉尼亚理工暨州立大学取得计算器科学博士学位。他于1990年获颁模式识别学会奖并于2001年荣获香港科技大学创新教学奖。2014年,他带领香港科技大学团队参与Wharton-QS Stars Awards 比赛,获授自然科学奖冠军及混合学习组亚军。

 

职责

副校长(行政)负责管理大学的行政资源,和计划科大的人事,财务,及物业各种资源,并为科大社群提供各种有关商业的服务,支援大学的学术和研究活动。

各项活动现由以下八个行政办事处管理:

Professor Ting Chuen Pong, BS, MS, PhD
Vice-President for Administration and Business

Biography

Prof. Ting Chuen Pong was appointed Vice-President for Administration and Business, effective 1 July 2021.

Prof. Pong joined The Hong Kong University of Science & Technology (HKUST) in 1991, where he is currently a Professor of Computer Science and Engineering. He served as Acting Provost in 2019, Senior Advisor to the Provost (Teaching Innovation and E-learning) from 2013 to 2021, Associate Vice-President for Academic Affairs (Postgraduate Studies & Academic Research) from 2002 to 2010, and Associate Dean of Engineering from 1999 to 2002. He was also Acting Director of the Center for Education Innovation from 2019 to 2021 and Director of the Center for Engineering Education Innovation from 2015 to 2018. Before joining HKUST, he was an Associate Professor in Computer Science at the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, USA.

Prof. Pong is currently a member of the Quality Assurance Council (QAC) and the Research Assessment Exercise Group of the University Grants Committee (UGC). He served as an Academic Research Advisor for the UGC from 2010 to 2012. He is currently also serving as a member of the Committee on Self-financing Post-secondary Education (CSPE) of the Education Bureau and Chair of the Sub-committee on Quality Assurance of the CSPE. He was a member of the Hong Kong Council for Accreditation of Academic and Vocational Qualifications (HKCAAVQ) and Chair of the Qualifications and Accreditation Committee in HKCAAVQ from 2014 to 2020.

Apart from being an experienced academic administrator, Prof. Pong has been leading various projects in e‐learning, including the Hong Kong Massive Open Online Courses (HKMOOC) platform for Hong Kong’s Tertiary Education Sector project funded by the UGC Teaching and Learning Funding Scheme. He has also led the efforts for HKUST to become the first University in Asia to join both Coursera and edX, and launched MOOCs in 2013.

Prof. Pong received his Ph.D. in Computer Science from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University in 1984. Prof. Pong is a recipient of the Pattern Recognition Society Award in 1990 and the HKUST Excellence in Teaching Innovation Award in 2001. In 2014, he led the HKUST team in the Wharton-QS Stars Awards Competition and was selected as Winner of the Natural Sciences Award and Runner-up of the Hybrid Learning Award.

 

Areas of Responsibility

The Vice-President for Administration and Business (VP-AB) maintains a strategic overview of the administrative resources of the University and functions responsible for the planning and management of manpower, financial, physical and other resources of the University to ensure delivery of services in support of the academic and research activities of the University.

The various activities are currently supported by 8 administrative offices: