金信哲博士, PhD
署理协理副校长(知识转移)

简历

金博士自2020年4月起担任香港科技大学(科大)技术转移中心主任兼香港科大研究开发有限公司行政总裁,更于2021年7月1日被任命为署理协理副校长(知识转移)。

金博士在创新和初创发展、以及制订组织转型策略上屡创佳绩。在加入科大前,他曾在香港大学(港大)技术转移处及科大科桥有限公司分别担任总监及执行董事,同时亦为iDendron(位于港大校内的初创孵化器)的创始人,并在该校知识交流办公室任职协理总监。金博士在新加坡科技研究局辖下的科技拓展私人有限公司任职高级副总裁期间(2007-2016),曾成功把逾300个技术组合作商业化,并培育多家初创公司、主理多个大规模国际合作项目及数千个工商项目。他更在2012年荣获杰出服务奖。

金博士在初创管理上富有经验,他2000年在韩国创办NESS Display Co. Ltd,随后在NESS Display Singapore Pte. Ltd担任执行董事 (2004-2007),成功获得超过1亿美金投资,他研发出用线性蒸镀系统运行的有机发光二极管显示器并将之商业化,成为全球首例。除此以外,他热心服务,在多家公司、孵化器和政府部门委员会担任委员和顾问。

金博士在韩国延世大学物理系取得博士学位,共计申请14项专利。

Dr. Shin Cheul Kim, PhD
Acting Associate Vice-President (Knowledge Transfer)

Biography

Dr. Kim joined The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) in 2020 as Director of Technology Transfer Center and CEO of HKUST R&D Corporation Limited, and was concurrently appointed as Acting Associate Vice-President (Knowledge Transfer) in July 2021.

Dr. Kim has successful track records in Innovation and Entrepreneurship development and strategic organizational transformation. Prior to joining the HKUST, he served as Director of Technology Transfer Office, Managing Director of Versitech Limited, founding Director of iDendron (an in-campus startup incubator) and Associate Director of Knowledge Exchange Office in The University of Hong Kong.  Dr. Kim served as a Senior Vice President at Exploit Technologies Pte. Ltd (2007-2016), a commercialization arm for Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR) of Singapore, where he commercialized more than 300 technology portfolios, created dozens of startup with multiple exits, sizable international collaboration projects and thousands of industry projects. He received the “Dedicated Service Award” in 2012.

He also has a strong experience in startup management. He was a founding member of NESS Display Co. Ltd (2000) in Korea and Managing Director of NESS Display Singapore Pte. Ltd (2004-2007), which attracted the investment of more than US$100million and commercialized OLED display using self-developed linear evaporation system for the first time in the world. He served many board and advisory positions for the companies, incubators and government bodies.

Dr. Kim received his Ph.D. in Physics from Yonsei University and filed 14 patent applications.