30/06/2006

Distinguished Leaders conferred Honorary Fellowships

The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) has conferred Honorary Fellowships on four distinguished community leaders: Mr Jacland Lai Chak-Lun, Mr Raymond Leung Siu-Hong, Dr Tin Ka-Ping, and Ms Marjorie Yang Mun-Tak, in recognition of their significant contributions to Hong Kong and HKUST.

At the presentation ceremony held today (30 June), the four awardees accepted their honors from Dr the Honorable Sir Sze-Yuen Chung, University Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of the Court, and Dr John C C Chan, Chairman of the Council.

Mr Jacland Lai Chak-Lun is a dedicated educator and public servant. His experience covers the entire education system, from kindergarten to tertiary education, from local to international, and from gifted children to the mentally challenged. The former Headmaster of Diocesan Boys' School has been devoted to public service for over 40 years, serving as a member of the University Grants Committee, Education Commission's Working Group, and the ICAC's Corruption Prevention Advisory Committee. He is a founding member of HKUST and has served on various University Committees, including the Planning Committee in 1986.



(From left) Dr John C C Chan, Ms Marjorie Yang Mun-Tak, Dr Tin Ka Ping, Dr the Honorable Sir Sze-Yuen Chung, Mr Raymond Leung Siu-Hong, Mr Jacland Lai Chak-Lun, and President Paul Chu

Mr Raymond Leung Siu-Hong, Chairman of SAE Magnetics (HK) Ltd, is a distinguished local industrialist. With his innovative thinking and entrepreneurial skills, he guided the Hong Kong based company to become the world's largest independent supplier of magnetic recording heads for hard disk drives. He shares his valuable industrial experiences with the community through participation in the Industrial Advisory Committee at HKUST and the other tertiary institutions. Realizing the importance of training for local talents, for years SAE has offered internship opportunities and co-organized in-house MSc programs for young engineers at local and mainland universities.

Dr Tin Ka Ping, the well-known entrepreneur and philanthropist, has dedicated himself to charitable causes. In 1982, he donated over HK\$1 billion to set up the K P Tin Foundation in support of education, culture and welfare endeavors in Hong Kong and the Mainland. The Foundation's beneficiaries include hundreds of universities and schools, and countless numbers of students who have received scholarships.

Dr Tin has been awarded honorary doctoral degrees and honorary university fellowships by various local universities. He is also an honorary citizen of more than 50 provinces, municipalities and counties in the Mainland.

Ms Marjorie Yang Mun-Tak, Chairman and CEO of the Esquel Group, is one of *Fortune* magazine's top 50 businesswomen in the world. An influential figure in the global garment industry, her accomplishments go far beyond the business arena. She has shown to the world that corporations can be both successful and socially responsible by

improving staff welfare and addressing environmental problems. She has served as a member of the University Court since 2002, and as an advisor to the Hang Lung Center for Organizational Research, providing valuable advice to HKUST and students.

Honorary Fellowships were introduced by HKUST in May 2000. They demonstrate the University's appreciation of community leaders who have made significant contributions to HKUST and Hong Kong through their endeavors.