

07/11/2003

HKUST Holds 11th Congregation

The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) presented academic degrees to 2,632 graduates during its Eleventh Congregation from 5 to 7 November 2003.

Of the 2,632 graduates, 1,789 received bachelor's degrees, 762 were master's degree recipients, and 81 were conferred PhDs. Since its establishment in 1991, HKUST has nurtured more than 20,000 undergraduate and postgraduate students.

Outstanding achievements, distinguished teaching and student leadership were also honored today (7 November 2003). The University conferred honorary doctorates on five distinguished persons in recognition of their academic achievements and contributions to society. They were:

- The Honorable Dr Cha Chi-ming, distinguished entrepreneur and founder of the Qiu Shi Science and Technologies Foundation, Doctor of Social Science *honoris causa*
- Prof Shiing Shen Chern, the greatest living Chinese mathematician and Wolf Prize winner, Doctor of Science honoris causa
- Dr Alfred Y Cho, inventor of revolutionary semiconductor technology and recipient of the National Medal of Science, Doctor of Engineering honoris causa
- The Honorable Professor Jao Tsung-I, erudite scholar and world renowned sinologist, Doctor of Letters honoris causa
- Prof Karl Alexander Müller, Nobel Laureate in Physics and pioneer in superconductivity, Doctor of Science honoris causa

The University's top teaching award — the Michael G Gale Medal for Distinguished Teaching — went to Dr Vidhan Krishan Goyal, Associate Professor of Finance. Dr Goyal is acknowledged for invigorating his students' learning of academic theory, particularly through the application of the most contemporary financial issues to his teaching methodology.

Tony Chan Shun-Bun, the President of HKUST Students' Union in 2001-02, was presented the Stephen Cheong Kam-chuen Medal for Distinguished Service to the Student Body. During his term in Office, he led efforts to promote a vibrant campus life, motivating students to participate in university affairs, and encouraging students to express their opinions on political and social issues.

More information about HKUST's honorary graduates





The honorary graduates (from left): Prof Shiing Shen Chern, Prof Karl Alexander Müller, Prof Jao Tsung I, Dr Alfred Y Cho and Dr Cha Chi-ming





Prof Jao Tsung I (middle) dedicates his calligraphy to the University